Consequences of a DUI Conviction in Illinois
Conviction of a DUI (driving under the influence) in the state of Illinois can have serious, lasting consequences. In fact, even first-time offenders run the risk of losing their license, jail time, and significant fines. Furthermore, the DUI laws in Illinois are progressive, so each additional offense results in even heavier penalties. If you or someone you love has recently been arrested for a DUI, understand the consequences and how to best protect your rights.
DUI Arrests in Illinois
If you are pulled over and an officer suspects that you have been drinking, he or she will ask you to complete a field sobriety test. An arrest will be made if the officer feels that the sobriety test has provided them with probable cause. Once at the station, you will be asked to submit to chemical testing. If you refuse, you may be facing a statutory summary suspension, which immediately suspends your license and then gives you 45 days to fight a longer-term suspension in court. If you comply, your BAC will be used to determine if a statutory summary suspension will be issued.
Minimum BAC in Illinois
Drivers over the age of 21 with a BAC over 0.08 are considered over the legal limit. For those with a commercial license, the limit is only 0.4. Anyone under the age of 21 is held to a zero tolerance limit, which means that any trace of alcohol in their system can lead to charges.
Consequences of a Conviction
Those charged and then convicted of a DUI are sentenced based on their number of previous offenses. First-time offenders can expect to spend up to one year in jail, pay fines of up to $2,500, and license suspension for up to one year. Those convicted of their second offense can spend up to a year in jail, pay up to $2,500 in fines, and will have their license suspended for no less than five years. Third and fourth convictions are considered Class 2 felonies. Driving privileges will be suspended for a minimum of 10 years upon the third conviction and for the rest of your life on a fourth conviction. Keep in mind that this dates all the way back to when you first received driving privileges, and that these guidelines are only for those who have no other offenses in addition to their DUI.
Our Aggressive Criminal Defense Attorneys Will Defend Your Rights
Whether you are being charged with your first offense or your fifth, our Naperville criminal defense attorneys will aggressively defend your rights, including your right to drive. We look for any discrepancies in your case and use whatever leverage we find to improve the outcome. Do not simply accept a DUI conviction. Fight back by contacting our offices today.