Am I Eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit After a DUI?
As in all 50 states, it is against the law in Illinois to operate a vehicle while impaired due to drugs or alcohol. A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) can result in hefty fees, incarceration, and suspension of your driver’s license. After a DUI arrest, you may be extremely concerned about how the loss of your driving privileges will negatively impact your life. You may worry that you will be unable to get to and from work, transport your children, and fulfill other important responsibilities. In some cases, a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) can allow you to regain your driving privileges before the mandatory license suspension period is over.
What Is an MDDP?
The MDDP program allows DUI offenders to regain their ability to legally drive before they would otherwise be able to do so. In order to participate in the program, you will need to have a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) installed in your vehicle. This device works similarly to a roadside breathalyzer test in that it measures the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream by analyzing a breath sample. Once the BAIID has been installed, the vehicle ignition will only engage if you submit a passing breath sample. Your blood alcohol content (BAC) must be below 0.25 percent in order for the vehicle to start. You will also be required to submit additional breath samples throughout your trip.
Who Is Eligible for an MDDP?
In Illinois, there are certain qualifications that must be met to obtain an MDDP. You may qualify for this program if you are at least 18 years old and have not received a statutory summary suspension or DUI within the past five years. You will not be eligible for an MDDP if:
Your driver’s license is invalid for another reason.
Death or bodily harm resulted from your DUI incident.
You have previously been convicted of aggravated DUI causing death or another form of reckless homicide.
You have been convicted of DUI or assigned court supervision for DUI within the last five years.
You have received a statutory summary suspension for refusal to take a breath test in the last five years.
Even if you are not eligible for this particular program, there may be other ways for you to reduce the negative impact of your DUI charges. To learn more about your options following a DUI arrest, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Contact a St. Charles DUI Defense Lawyer
If you are convicted of a first-time DUI in Illinois, your driving privileges will be revoked for a minimum of one year. Fortunately, you may be able to shorten the length of the suspension period by obtaining a Monitoring Device Driving Permit. To learn if this applies to your case, contact the Law Office of Glenn M. Sowa, LLC at 630-232-1780 to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our knowledgeable Illinois criminal defense attorneys.