Archive, May 2018.

When you are accused of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above the legal limit of 0.08 percent — or 0.04 if you are driving a commercial vehicle as part of your job, or 0.00 percent if you are younger than 21 — you can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, or DUI.
Continue reading

In Illinois, every individual convicted of a sex crime is required to register with the Illinois Sex Offender Registry. Individuals who are adjudicated as sexually dangerous and individuals who are charged with sex crimes but found not guilty for reason of insanity are also required to register as sex offenders.
Continue reading

In Illinois, all sex crime convictions require the defendant to register with the Illinois Sex Offender Registry. Additionally, certain individuals who are found not guilty by reason of insanity and those adjudicated as sexually dangerous or sexually violent are required to register. Under the Sex Offender Registration Act, it is a crime for an individual who is required to register as a sex offender to fail to do so.
Continue reading

Unlike many sports, you do not want to score points when you drive. Illinois, like many other states, has a point system for drivers. When a driver commits a traffic infraction, one or more points can be added to his or her driver’s license. As these points add up, so do the penalties the driver faces.
Continue reading

Domestic violence is a crime. Different from battery, domestic violence is the act of physically harming another individual. Moreover domestic violence is specific violence committed toward a member of the offender’s household, an individual with whom he or she has a child or a previous relationship, or a disabled person for whom the offender acts as a caretaker.
Continue reading