Can I Get My Illinois Driver’s License Reinstated After Revocation?

St. Charles driver's license resintatement lawyer

Everyone makes mistakes from time to time, even while operating a vehicle. Having your Illinois driver’s license suspended or revoked because of a traffic violation or accident can turn your life upside down. Without a license, you may have to rely on friends and family for rides or pay for a taxi. Even ride-share services such as Uber and Lyft can get expensive when you consider the cost over many months. If you have a job, classes you must attend, or a family to take care of, it is important that you get your driving privileges reinstated as soon as possible. Driver’s license reinstatement in Illinois is possible with the help of an experienced lawyer. 

Suspension Versus Revocation

There is one big difference between having your license suspended and having it revoked. A suspension lasts for a defined length of time, such as six months. When your driver’s license is revoked, however, you have lost it indefinitely. You can apply to have your license reinstated after 12 months, but you are not guaranteed to be approved for a reinstatement based on your driving record. 

Types of Suspension

Several types of license suspensions exist in Illinois. The two most common types are: 

  • Statutory Summary Suspension: If you drive while impaired by alcohol, illegal drugs, or a prescribed medication, you can be charged with DUI. If you refuse a chemical test, you can lose your license for 12 months for a first offense or 36 months for subsequent offenses. If you agree to a chemical test and fail it, your license will be suspended for six months for a first offense or 12 months for subsequent offenses.

  • Zero Tolerance Suspension: If you are under the age of 21 and are charged with DUI, refusal to submit to a chemical test can result in a license suspension of six months for a first offense and 24 months for a second offense. If you take the chemical test and fail, you can lose driving privileges for three months for a first offense and 12 months for a second offense.

Revoked License for DUI

If your license is revoked, there will be a mandated waiting period before you can reapply for a driver’s license. The penalties are stiffer each time you are convicted of a DUI. 

  • 2nd DUI within 20 years: Driver’s license revoked for a minimum of five years

  • 3rd DUI within 20 years: Driver’s license revoked for a minimum of 10 years

  • 4th DUI and any subsequent DUI convictions: Driver’s license revoked permanently

Reinstatement Options

Whether your license has been suspended or revoked, you will have to pay reinstatement fees to have your driving privileges reinstated. These can be anywhere from $70 for the Zero Tolerance Suspension to $500 if you have had your license suspended or revoked more than once. These fees can be expensive, and if you are spending money on other forms of transportation while you cannot drive, it can put a significant strain on your budget. 

There are several ways in which an experienced lawyer can help you get your driver’s license reinstated in Illinois. Not only can he or she go through your driving record and try to reduce some of the violations with which you have been charged, but an attorney may also be able to have some charges dismissed altogether.

A lawyer can also represent you in both informal and formal hearings. Your attorney can help you explain your situation and ask for some charges to be changed. In some cases, a suspension may be reduced to restricted driving privileges. A restricted driver’s license limits the times when you can drive and may also limit the area in which you can travel. 

Contact a St. Charles Driver's License Reinstatement Lawyer 

Losing your driving privileges can impact your everyday life, especially if you cannot go to work. If you have had your license suspended or revoked, you should seek legal counsel to help you reinstate it. An experienced Illinois driver’s license defense attorney may be able to help you reduce the length of your suspension, reduce your suspension to restricted driving privileges, or dismiss charges from your record altogether. Call the diligent Law Office of Glenn M. Sowa, LLC at 630-232-1780 to schedule a free consultation.