Category Archives: Weapons Charges

St. Charles weapons charges defense attorney

Gun violence is a major concern for Illinois residents, especially those living in or around Chicago. In order to help prevent needless injuries and deaths from gun violence, Illinois has enacted several strict gun ownership policies. In order to legally own a firearm in Illinois, you must obtain a Firearm Ownership Identification (FOID) card. The Illinois State Police has the right to revoke your FOID card and therefore withdraw your legal authorization to possess a firearm for a number of reasons. If you are a gun owner, it is critical that you understand the laws pertaining to firearm possession to avoid criminal charges.    

FOID Eligibility

In order to receive a FOID card, gun owners must meet several criteria. Illinois residents are not eligible for a FOID card if they:

...
Continue reading

St. Charles gun charges defense attorney

Illinois is known for having some of the strictest gun laws in the country. In order to legally purchase a firearm in Illinois, you must obtain a Firearms Owner’s Identification (FOID) card. Only those individuals who meet certain criteria will be issued a FOID card. Being caught in possession of a gun without a valid FOID card can result in significant criminal penalties. If you have been charged with a firearm-related crime, it is essential that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can explain your legal options.

Who Is Eligible for a FOID Card?

In order to obtain a FOID card and be permitted to possess a firearm in Illinois, you must meet certain criteria. You must be over 21 years old or have parental consent, have a valid driver’s license or state identification card, and not be an unlawful resident of the United States. A person cannot be issued a FOID card if he or she:

...
Continue reading

weapons offense charges, concealed carry, FOID, Naperville criminal defense lawyers, concealed carry permitThe Illinois State Police Department must issue a concealed carry permit for handguns to any individual age 21 or older who completes the required 16-hour training course and holds a Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card. The state imposes numerous limits on concealed carry permit holders, including the right of any law enforcement agency to object to issuing such a permit to an individual who the agency reasonably believes to be a hazard to him- or herself or others.

Other limits include which types of firearm may be carried in a concealed manner and where they may be taken. Violations of Illinois’ concealed carry law are grounds for weapons offense charges.

The Importance of the FOID

...
Continue reading

Other Weapons Charges in IllinoisWhile more attention is given to gun law violations, serious penalties are also given to those who violate Illinois’ other weapons laws. These banned weapons include stun guns and throwing stars, among others. Additionally, it is illegal to possess certain types of weapons depending on the property that you are on or even what you are wearing. If you have been charged with a weapons violation, you may be facing up to 30 years in prison if convicted of a class X felony. Weapons charges vary greatly on a variety of factors, however, and the charges you faced could well be dropped to a lower level felony or even a misdemeanor.

Prohibited Weapons in Illinois

Pursuant to Illinois code 720 ILCS 5/24-1, it is unlawful to possess, carry, manufacture, or sell any of the following weapons in Illinois:

...
Continue reading

Illinois Gun Law OverviewEvery state has different laws regarding guns and gun ownership. It is important to understand the laws in your area if you are planning to own and carry a firearm. Keep in mind that gun laws are constantly changing, so you should talk to a skilled gun charges defense lawyer to find out the most up-to-date laws in your area.

Purchasing Firearms and Ammunition

In Illinois, to buy firearms or ammunition, residents must get a Firearms Owner’s Identification (FOID) card, or have a concealed carry permit. In order to legally sell weapons or ammunition to someone, they must first present their FOID card or permit.

...
Continue reading

Archives