Illinois Gun Law Overview
Every state has different laws regarding guns and gun ownership. It is important to understand the laws in your area if you are planning to own and carry a firearm. Keep in mind that gun laws are constantly changing, so you should talk to a skilled gun charges defense lawyer to find out the most up-to-date laws in your area.
Purchasing Firearms and Ammunition
In Illinois, to buy firearms or ammunition, residents must get a Firearms Owner’s Identification (FOID) card, or have a concealed carry permit. In order to legally sell weapons or ammunition to someone, they must first present their FOID card or permit.
The requirements to get a FOID card include submitting proof of being 21 years of age or older or having parental consent to possess firearms in writing, showing proof of residency in Illinois, and you must not be a “prohibited purchaser.”. A prohibited purchaser is someone who due to previous criminal activity, certain mental health, or intellectual disabilities is legally prohibited from owning firearms.
Concealed Carry Laws
People can carry concealed firearms on them in public with a concealed carry permit. Individuals do not need a concealed carry permit to carry concealed firearms on their own property or the property of another person who has given them permission. You need to prove that you have not been convicted of a felony to obtain a concealed carry permit. Applicants must also complete at least 16 hours of approved firearm safety training.
Even with a concealed carry permit, it is illegal to carry firearms in many places such as any public transportation, schools, hospitals, restaurants that make at least half its income from alcohol sales, and anywhere alcohol is sold for special events.
If you can obtain a FOID card, but do not have one, and are found to be in possession of a firearm, it is a class A misdemeanor. The first violation of the law can come with a penalty of up to one year in jail, and/or a fine of up to $2,500. A second violation is a class four felony with one to three years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000. If you are not eligible to get a FOID card and are caught with a firearm, you can be charged with a class three felony with penalties from two to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
Contact Naperville, Illinois Gun Charge Defense Lawyers Today
Gun crimes come with serious charges and if you have been charged, immediately contact a knowledgeable gun charge defense lawyer to assess your situation. The skilled Naperville criminal defense lawyers at Law Office of Glenn M. Sowa, LLC can help defend you.