Illinois’ Points System for Drivers
Unlike many sports, you do not want to score points when you drive. Illinois, like many other states, has a point system for drivers. When a driver commits a traffic infraction, one or more points can be added to his or her driver’s license. As these points add up, so do the penalties the driver faces.
Common Traffic Offenses and Their Point Values
The more severe a traffic infraction, the more points a driver will accrue on his or her license. A few common traffic offenses and their point values include the following:
- Reckless driving: 55 points;
- Driving with a non-working headlight, side light, or tail light: 10 points;
- Driving below the posted minimum speed limit: 5 points;
- Negligent driving: 10 points;
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian when the pedestrian has the right of way: 20 points; and
- Failure to use a turn signal: 15 points.
As you can see, point values vary widely. Drivers can also accrue points on their licenses for speeding. The number of points a driver accrues for speeding depends on how fast he or she drove in excess of the speed limit. Point values for speeding offenses are:
- Up to 10 mph above the speed limit: 5 points;
- 11 to 14 mph over the speed limit: 15 points;
- 15 to 25 mph over the speed limit: 20 points; and
- 25 or more mph over the speed limit: 50 points.
Penalties for Accruing Points on your Driver’s License
When a driver accrues points on his or her driver’s license, he or she faces penalties like jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension. Points are only added to a driver’s license when the driver chooses not to contest the citation he or she received or when he or she is found guilty of committing the offense after contesting it in court.
When a driver under age 21 is found guilty of two or more traffic violations in a 24-month period, his or her driver’s license is suspended based on the number of points on the license. For drivers over 21, three violations in a 12-month period leads to a license suspension or revocation.
When a driver has 15 to 44 points on his or her license, the suspension is for two months.
- For 45 to 75 points, the suspension is for three months;
- For 75 to 89 points, the suspension is for six months;
- For 90 to 99 points, it is for nine months; and
- If there are 100 points or more on a driver’s license, the license is suspended for one year.
Work with an Experienced Naperville Traffic Defense Lawyer
Never assume that a traffic ticket is not worth fighting. Every charge is worth fighting, especially charges that could potentially land you in jail, subject you to steep fines, or keep you from driving. To start working on your defense strategy with an experienced Naperville traffic charge defense lawyer, contact our team at Law Office of Glenn M. Sowa, LLC today to schedule your initial legal consultation with us. We can answer your questions and work with you to defend your case.