Reinstating Your Driver’s License in Illinois
There are several different reasons why an individual’s driver’s license can be suspended or revoked in Illinois. Reasons include DUI charges, punishment for certain civil offenses like failing to appear in court when required and accruing a substantial amount of unpaid child support, and exceeding the state’s limit for traffic violations during a one-year period. When a driver’s license is suspended or revoked, the individual cannot legally operate any motor vehicle.
Once the suspension period is over, the individual can have his or her driver’s license reinstated. In some cases, an individual whose license was revoked can also have it reinstated and drive again.
At minimum, a year must pass from an individual’s revocation for him or her to seek a driver’s license reinstatement. For an individual with multiple DUI convictions, this period is longer.
You will Need a Court Hearing
The first step toward having a driver’s license reinstated is contacting a Secretary of State hearing officer to determine one’s eligibility for license reinstatement. If the individual is eligible for a reinstatement, he or she must schedule a court hearing, during which the court determines whether the individual should have his or her license fully reinstated, reinstated with restrictions, or remain suspended or revoked.
If the individual’s driver’s license was suspended for a single DUI or traffic violations and no fatalities resulted from his or her actions, he or she can have an informal hearing. Otherwise, he or she must schedule a formal hearing for his or her case. This involves additional planning and fees.
What to Do After the Hearing
The results of the hearing determine what the driver can and must do afterward. If he or she is granted a full reinstatement, he or she may drive again with no restrictions. If the court requires a restricted driving permit, the driver must comply with its terms. Generally, it requires the installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID).
To have a driver’s license reinstated, an individual must provide the court with proof of automobile insurance. At this point, the individual must also pay the required reinstatement fee.
Paying Reinstatement Fees
Reinstating your driver’s license is not cheap. How much you must pay to have your driver’s license reinstated depends on the reason why it was suspended. For many offenses, such as suspensions due to failure to pay child support and traffic-related suspensions, the fee is $70. For other offenses, such as a suspension for DUI, the fee is $250. For all revocations, the reinstatement fee is $500.
Work with an Experienced Naperville License Reinstatement Lawyer
If you want to have your driver’s license reinstated after a suspension or revocation, it is in your best interest to work with an experienced Naperville driver’s license reinstatement lawyer to complete this process. Your lawyer can walk you through the process of applying for a reinstatement and representing your case during your hearing. To learn more, schedule a legal consultation with our team at Law Office of Glenn M. Sowa, LLC.