Tag Archives: drunk driving

St. Charles felony DUI defense lawyer

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is against the law in Illinois just as it is in every other U.S. state. If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more in Illinois, you can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI). The criminal penalties associated with an Illinois DUI conviction will depend heavily on the circumstances of the offense. Some individuals who are convicted of a DUI may qualify for a diversion program and are able to avoid jail time entirely. Others, however, will face years of incarceration for a DUI conviction. Read on to learn more about Illinois DUI law and what you can do if you have been charged with this serious offense.

Misdemeanor DUI

If you are caught drinking and driving and you have never previously been convicted of DUI, you will likely face a Class A misdemeanor DUI charge. The penalties associated with a first-time DUI conviction include the revocation of your driver’s license for one year, a maximum jail sentence of six months, and a maximum fine of $1,000. You may be able to regain your driving privileges if you participate in the Monitoring Device Driving Permit program (MDDP) and install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in your vehicle. A BAIID works like a breathalyzer and requires the driver to submit breath samples for blood alcohol content (BAC) analysis. A second DUI conviction is also a Class A misdemeanor, but it carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence of five days and a maximum sentence of one year.

...
Continue reading

Naperville traffic violation defense lawyers, DUI, civil case, Naperville car accident, drunk drivingSay you are involved in a car accident, and at the scene of the accident you are accused of driving drunk. You may be charged with DUI. You may additionally face a personal injury lawsuit from the other party involved in the accident alleging that you caused the collision by driving drunk.

Then, assume you successfully defend your case in court and the DUI charge is dropped. You are free and clear of everything associated with the crash, right? Not exactly. The DUI was a criminal charge, and the personal injury claim was a civil charge. It is entirely possible for each to have different outcomes, and for you to be found innocent, but not liable for the victim’s damages. Or vice versa.

The Difference Between Civil and Criminal Rulings

...
Continue reading

DUI charges, Naperville DUI lawyers, sleep aids, drunk driving, criminal defense strategyGenerally, an image of a drunk driver comes to mind when you hear the term “DUI.” When a driver is found to have a higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC) than the legal limit, he or she can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) and, if convicted, face penalties that include fines, a driver’s license suspension, and even potential jail time. Drivers can also face DUI charges for driving while impaired by other substances, both legal and illegal.

Alcohol’s effects on drivers are well-known. It can impair a driver’s perception of his or her environment and ability to judge distances and speeds. The effects other drugs can have on drivers are not as well-known.

Below are four drug categories and how their use can affect drivers. When you are prescribed medication, always discuss its side effects with your doctor and do not drive after taking the medication until you know how it affects you.

...
Continue reading

DUIWith holiday parties and family gatherings, the holiday season is a popular time to drink. Illinois also sees an increase in intoxicated drivers and accidents involving alcohol during this season. If you are planning on drinking, it is important to take appropriate safety measures to avoid a DUI arrest or conviction. If you have been charged with a DUI, an attorney can help you defend your rights.

Illinois DUI Law

In Illinois, it is illegal for a person to operate a motor vehicle if his or her blood alcohol content is at or above 0.08 percent. Illinois has a zero tolerance law for those under the age of 21. If an underage driver is caught with any amount of alcohol in his or her system, the driver can be charged with a DUI. For drivers of commercial vehicles, such as taxis or trucks, the limit is 0.04 percent.

...
Continue reading

DUI chargeDriving under the influence is a dangerous practice, but everyone makes mistakes. Often, the person facing DUI charges had no idea he or she was over the limit while driving. The truth, however, is that drunk driving carries serious penalties, which is why it is so important to hire an experienced DUI attorney to represent your interests.

What Leads to a DUI Charge?

In most states, police will charge a driver with DUI if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 or greater. Depending on how the suspect was driving and his or her interactions with law enforcement, alcohol-related charges can result from BACs as low as 0.05.

...
Continue reading

Archives