Tag Archives: DUI charges

St. Charles aggravated DUI defense attorney

As it is in every state, it is against the law to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Illinois. Many DUI arrests are the result of failing a chemical blood alcohol content (BAC) test such as a breathalyzer. However, a driver may be arrested for DUI even if he or she does not have a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or greater. According to Illinois law, a driver can face DUI charges for being under the influence of any intoxicating compound, drug, or combination of drugs and alcohol to a degree that he or she is unable to drive safely. The penalties for DUI increase with every previous DUI conviction. If you have been charged with your second or third DUI in Illinois, it is crucial that you reach out to a criminal defense attorney for help.  

Criminal Consequences of a Second or Subsequent DUI

A second DUI is typically a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois, which is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to one year. You may also be subjected to a driver’s license suspension of five years. Third, fourth, and subsequent DUI convictions are aggravated DUI offenses in Illinois. If you have received two previous convictions for DUI, and you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs for the third time, this is a Class 2 felony offense. If convicted, you could face up to seven years in prison. You may also face a driver’s license suspension period of 10 years.

...
Continue reading

St. Charles criminal defense DUI attorney

In Illinois, it is against the law to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. During a police stop in which an officer suspects that a person was driving under the influence (DUI), breathalyzers or field sobriety tests may be used to estimate a driver’s BAC. However, a police officer cannot force a driver to submit to a breath test or field sobriety test. Technically, Illinois motorists do have the option to refuse the test. However, doing so may result in several negative consequences.    

Understanding “Implied Consent” in Illinois

Many people do not realize it, but they actually give police officers permission to test their blood alcohol content when they choose to drive on Illinois roads. Illinois law states that drivers give “implied consent” to testing for the purpose of determining the amount of alcohol or drugs in their system. Police officers are permitted to request a breath test or other chemical test if there is probable cause to believe that someone who is in “actual physical control” of a vehicle is under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If a law enforcement officer suspects a motorist of driving while intoxicated, he or she will typically ask the driver to submit to field sobriety tests and/or a breath test. If the driver refuses to take these roadside tests, this refusal may give the officer probable cause to make an arrest. Following the arrest, a driver will be asked to take a breath, blood, or urine test to measure their BAC. The implied consent laws apply to these post-arrest tests, and refusal to submit to this type of testing will result in administrative penalties, in addition to any criminal penalties resulting from a DUI conviction.  

...
Continue reading

St. Charles drunk driving defense attorney BAIID

Many people know that being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) can result in the loss of driving privileges in Illinois. However, you may not realize that a motorist can receive a driver’s license suspension for a DUI arrest as well. If you fail a “Breathalyzer” test or other blood alcohol content (BAC) chemical test, you will face a six-month license suspension called a statutory summary suspension. If you are asked by a law enforcement officer to take a BAC test after being arrested, and you refuse to do so, your license could be suspended for one year. Driving with a suspended license can result in severe criminal consequences. Fortunately, some individuals with a suspended driver’s license may regain their ability to legally drive if they qualify for certain driving permits and install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) in their vehicle.

Understanding BAIIDs

A BAIID is similar to a Breathalyzer device. It is a small piece of equipment that measures the amount of alcohol on someone’s breath and uses that data to estimate the person’s BAC. Once a BAIID is installed in your vehicle, you will need to submit a breath sample by breathing into the device whenever you want to turn on the car. If your BAC is above 0.25 percent, the ignition will not work, and the automobile will not start. If you submit a breath test that is below the BAC limit, the car will start normally. You will also be required to submit breath samples throughout the duration of your trip.

...
Continue reading

St. Charles cannabis DUI attorney

Many people do not realize it, but alcohol intoxication is not the only way a person can face driving under the influence (DUI) charges in Illinois. Illinois law states that an individual can also be charged with DUI for driving or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of any controlled substance or drug – even prescription medications and cannabis. Because recreational marijuana is now legal in Illinois for residents aged 21 and older, many people are wondering whether or not they could receive a DUI for driving while under the influence of cannabis.

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana Laws in Illinois

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) is the chemical compound that is responsible for the psychological effects caused by marijuana use. THC can affect a person’s coordination, concentration, perception of time, memory, reflexes, and more. Having THC in your system can significantly decrease your ability to drive safely if it reduces your reaction time or your ability to drive safely. For these reasons, Illinois DUI laws still include restrictions against driving under the influence of THC.

...
Continue reading

St. Charles drunk driving defense attorney

The state of Illinois takes drunk driving very seriously. According to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA), nearly 30 people die as a result of accidents involving an intoxicated driver every day in the United States. In order to dissuade drivers from driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, Illinois has enacted several penalties for this type of impaired driving. Penalties for second or subsequent DUI are typically much harsher than penalties for a first-time DUI. If you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence, speak to an experienced DUI attorney to learn about your defense options.

Understanding Illinois DUI Laws

According to Illinois statutes, it is illegal for an individual to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if he or she:

...
Continue reading

Archives