Tag Archives: Illinois criminal defense lawyer

St. Charles theft charges defense attorney

One of the most common criminal offenses committed by otherwise law-abiding citizens is retail theft or shoplifting. It is estimated that approximately 1 out of every 11 individuals in the United States has shoplifted at some point in their lives. Many people justify stealing items from a retail store by stating that it is a victimless act or that it is not an actual “crime.” However, shoplifting is considered a serious criminal offense in Illinois. A person convicted of retail theft may be subject to a range of criminal penalties, including potential jail time. If you or a loved one has been charged with shoplifting, do not take these charges lightly. Talk to a criminal defense attorney experienced in theft cases to receive the legal help you need.

What Is Shoplifting?

Shoplifting is typically thought of as taking an item from a store and then simply leaving the store without paying for it. This is the most straightforward way to avoid paying for an item. Often, a person may conceal the item in his or her clothing, purse, backpack, or bag, and they may then quickly walk out of the store. However, there are many other ways that shoplifters steal from retail stores. Some people remove price tags from expensive items and replace them with price tags from lower priced items. Others work with a store employee to get away with not paying for items. For example, a cashier may allow a friend to steal from the store by intentionally failing to ring up certain items during checkout.

...
Continue reading

St. Charles aggravated DUI defense attorney

As it is in every state, it is against the law to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Illinois. Many DUI arrests are the result of failing a chemical blood alcohol content (BAC) test such as a breathalyzer. However, a driver may be arrested for DUI even if he or she does not have a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or greater. According to Illinois law, a driver can face DUI charges for being under the influence of any intoxicating compound, drug, or combination of drugs and alcohol to a degree that he or she is unable to drive safely. The penalties for DUI increase with every previous DUI conviction. If you have been charged with your second or third DUI in Illinois, it is crucial that you reach out to a criminal defense attorney for help.  

Criminal Consequences of a Second or Subsequent DUI

A second DUI is typically a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois, which is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to one year. You may also be subjected to a driver’s license suspension of five years. Third, fourth, and subsequent DUI convictions are aggravated DUI offenses in Illinois. If you have received two previous convictions for DUI, and you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs for the third time, this is a Class 2 felony offense. If convicted, you could face up to seven years in prison. You may also face a driver’s license suspension period of 10 years.

...
Continue reading

St. Charles solicitation defense attorney

The act of trading cash or other property for sexual contact is against the law in Illinois. Being charged with soliciting a prostitute can lead not only to criminal penalties, but also shame and embarrassment. If you have been accused of solicitation of a sexual act, you could face steep fines, jail time, and severe damage to your personal reputation and professional career. In some cases, your charges may be based on wrongful accusations. Regardless of your situation, it is essential that you speak with a criminal defense attorney right away if you are facing charges for any type of sexual offense.  

Many Prostitution Charges Are a Result of a Police Sting Operation

If you exchange money for some type of sexual activity in Illinois, you may be arrested and charged with soliciting a prostitute. However, you do not have to actually be caught in the act of trading money for sex in order to face prostitution charges. You can also be arrested for solicitation for simply agreeing to trade money or property for sexual activity. For example, if you plan an exchange with someone through a website like Craigslist, you could be charged with solicitation even if you never physically meet up with that person.

...
Continue reading

St. Charles child abuse attorney Shaken Baby Syndrome

Being accused of causing an infant’s injury or death can be devastating. People may assume that just because a person was charged with a child-related offense, this means he or she actually committed the crime. Even if the accusation is unfounded, being accused of shaking a baby can result in life-changing consequences. You could endure years or even decades behind bars if convicted. If you are facing criminal charges because you allegedly caused an infant to suffer from Shaken Baby Syndrome, contact an experienced criminal law attorney to discuss your defense options.

Understanding Shaken Baby Syndrome

Shaken Baby Syndrome (SBS), also called Shaken Impact Syndrome, refers to the damage caused when an infant or small child is violently shaken. It is estimated that between 1,200 and 1,400 incidences of Shaken Baby Syndrome occur in the United States every year. Babies who are shaken can suffer brain damage, internal bleeding, detached retina, and other severe injuries. These injuries often lead to the baby’s death or long-term disability. A doctor or medical examiner may conclude that Shaken Baby Syndrome caused an infant’s death or injury when the infant exhibits symptoms such as:

...
Continue reading

St. Charles DUI defense attorney

Imagine the following scenario: you decide to have a few drinks at a local bar after work. However, you lose track of time and end up consuming a significant amount of alcohol and staying at the bar much longer than you intended. It is now nighttime, and you are too intoxicated to drive. In a situation like this, you may decide to avoid drunk driving by sleeping in your vehicle and driving home once you have sobered up. However, according to Illinois law, you may be charged with a DUI even if you were not actually driving.

Illinois DUI Law

Section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code states that it is a criminal offense for a person to drive or be in “actual physical control” of a vehicle when:

...
Continue reading

Archives