Tag Archives: underage DUI

St. Charles juvenile crimes defense attorney

For many young people, age 21 cannot come soon enough. Underage individuals may attempt to use a number of methods to obtain alcohol before they are old enough to legally drink it. They may ask an older sibling or friend to buy the alcohol for them, use a fake ID to purchase alcohol in a store, or steal drinks from their parents’ liquor cabinet. Although many juveniles underestimate the danger of underage drinking and even see it as a normal part of growing up, acquiring and consuming alcohol before age 21 is against the law in Illinois. If your child has been charged with an alcohol-related offense, a criminal defense attorney can help you explore your legal options.

Underage Drinking Offenses in Illinois

There are several crimes associated with underage drinking in Illinois. Anyone under age 21 caught purchasing, possessing, or consuming alcohol will have his or her driving privileges suspended for six months for a first offense and 12 months for a second offense. Transporting alcohol in the passenger area of a vehicle can result in a one-year suspension of the offender’s driving privileges.

...
Continue reading

Naperville Juvenile DUI Lawyer

While everyone knows drinking under the age of 21 is illegal, that does not stop everyone. There are numerous charges minors can face if caught with alcohol and their troubles are quickly compounded if they operate a vehicle while under the influence. Also, anyone 21 or older who provides a minor with alcohol risks fines and/or jail time. If your child has been charged with an underage drinking offense, contact a skilled criminal defense attorney immediately.

Possession or Purchase of Alcohol

If a minor age 16 or older is caught in possession of alcohol or buying or receiving it, their license can be suspended for three months for ordered court supervision, six months for a first conviction, or a year for a second conviction. For a third or subsequent offense, a minor may have their license revoked. The punishment is worse if a minor has alcohol in their car. In fact, everyone in the vehicle may be fined up to $1,000, and the driver’s license may be suspended for one year.

...
Continue reading

Naperville DUi Lawyer

One of the milestones nearly all American teenagers look forward to is the day they can get their driver’s license. While it means extra freedom, teens and driving have always been a dangerous combination. 

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), car crashes are the leading cause of death for teens. About a quarter of those fatal accidents involve an underage driver who was drinking. In 2016, 39 percent of drivers involved in fatal crashes involving alcohol were young drivers age 16 to 24. Because of this, in addition to minimum drinking age laws, many states have enacted zero-tolerance laws for underage drinking and driving.

...
Continue reading

Naperville DUI lawyer, underage DUI, underage drinking, underage drinker, DUI chargeAlcohol impairs an individual’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Because drunk drivers are a hazard to themselves and all others on the road, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. Doing so can result in a driving under the influence (DUI) charge.

The Driver’s BAC at the Time of His or Her Arrest Matters

For an individual age 21 or older, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for operating a motor vehicle is 0.08 percent. For individuals under 21, the legal limit is 0.00 percent. In other words, having any alcohol in his or her system during a traffic stop can lead to a DUI charge for an underage individual.

...
Continue reading

Archives