Illinois criminal sexual assault defense lawyer

Criminal sexual assault is any act of sexual penetration in which the perpetrator uses threat or force; knows the victim is unable to give knowing consent; is related to the victim and the victim is over 18; holds some position of trust or authority over the victim who is age 17 or older; or is in supervisory care over the victim who is 13-17 years old. If you or someone you know has been charged with criminal sexual assault in Illinois, it is best to speak to a skilled criminal defense lawyer to plan your defense.

What Are the Punishments for Sexual Assault?

Charges for criminal sexual assault will vary, depending on the circumstances. A first offense is a Class 1 felony. However, if the perpetrator has a previous charge, he or she could face Class X felony charges, which could mean at least 30 years in prison. With a previous conviction of aggravated criminal sexual assault or predatory assault of a child, the punishment could be up to life in prison.

...
Continue reading

Illinois reckless driving lawyers

If you get pulled over for reckless driving, you may get more than a ticket. You could be taken into custody, which could mean your vehicle will be impounded. You may also have to post bail or stay in jail until it is time to appear before a judge. Altogether, it can be a costly criminal charge.

What is Reckless Driving?

According to Illinois law, the following scenarios can result in a reckless driving charge:

...
Continue reading

St. Charles drug crimes lawyer

Illinois is possibly on the verge of legalizing marijuana for recreational use for adults age 21 and older, perhaps as early as Jan. 1, 2020. This would mean residents of the state could possess up to 30 grams of cannabis and non-residents could have up to 15 grams. The decriminalization could also lead to expungement for certain marijuana possession convictions that were made based on the current laws.

Marijuana Possession Penalties 

Currently, if a person is caught with 10 grams or less of marijuana, it is considered a civil violation, which means no jail time and a maximum fine of $200. A first offense with 10-30 grams is a misdemeanor, which could result in a year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. Anything over 30 grams is a felony, with conviction resulting in anywhere from a year to 30 years in jail and fines up to $25,000.

...
Continue reading

Naperville defense attorney

The classification of domestic violence covers a wide range of crimes. Illinois law considers assault or battery an act of domestic violence if it is perpetrated against a:

  • Family member;
  • Spouse or former spouse;
  • Current or former roommate;
  • Co-parent, regardless of whether the parents were ever married;
  • Former boyfriend or girlfriend; or
  • Household member with disabilities or their assistant.
  • Abuse may be physical, such as hitting, choking, pushing, or entrapping, to name a few. It may also take the form of harassment and/or stalking, threatening, forcing another person to do something he or she does not want to do, or denying someone proper medical care. Charges may also be increased if any of this is done in front of a child. 

What Someone Accused of Domestic Violence Can Do

If you are accused of a violent crime, you are innocent until proven guilty. These charges are of the utmost seriousness, so it is critical you seek legal counsel as soon as possible. Your attorney can investigate the facts of your case to seek dropped or reduced charges. This includes any witnesses that can support your claim of innocence or that you acted in self-defense. During this time, do not contact your accuser, and follow the advice of your legal counsel. 

...
Continue reading

St.Charles Juvenile Crimes LawyerIf you were arrested or convicted of any crimes as a minor, then you may qualify for juvenile expungement. Although not all crimes can be expunged, juvenile expungement will wipe your record clean of any crime you committed as a minor. The public will not be able to see these crimes, giving you a clean slate for adulthood. Your juvenile record may still be available to some government organizations or to employers in certain industries, such as law enforcement, education, childcare, or the healthcare industry. Most employers will not have access to the follies of your youth, enabling you to find quality employment.

How to Begin the Process

You will need to get copies of your juvenile records and ensure that all the cases are closed. Then, you and your attorney can review the documents and determine whether your records can be expunged. If so, there are forms that can be filled out and filed with the Circuit Clerk.

To expunge a Class A misdemeanor or felony, it must have been at least two years since the case ended, including the subsequent sentence and probation, if applicable. If you were found guilty of first-degree murder or a felony sex offense, those charges cannot be expunged. If you were convicted of crimes in another state, they would not qualify for expungement in Illinois.

...
Continue reading